I want to talk about personal well-being for a minute.

A friend once told me that at the end of your day, no matter what job you have, no matter where you live or who you’re with, at the end of the day, you’ve always got your health. It’s nothing you can ignore, and it’s nothing you can ever pass responsibility from. Your body, your mind, your well-being is entirely up to you, and it’s not something that should be easily forgotten.

Recently, I made myself very sick. This wasn’t Eat A Whole Chocolate Cake Like That Awesome Kid In Matilda, kind of sick. It was, Work Yourself To The Point of Exhaustion And Pain sort of sick. I worked three jobs, essentially 70 hours a week, pushed myself to my limit and beyond by working 6 weeks of full time straight, and in short, became so sick I couldn’t get out of bed to work.

It was awful. If I know one thing about myself, it’s that I hate feeling useless. I work best when there is work to be done, and to have that swept out from under me was awful. I entered the Odinsleep, and I despised it.

But what could I do? I was sick and the answer was Rest and Relaxation.

I think folks, especially around my age, tend to feel that the have to do All The Things, All The Time, in order to prove themselves to whoever may be watching. But that just ain’t true. If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that you need to take care of yourself. Especially if you’re like me, and throw common sense to the wind when given a chance to work and save money and prove how You Can Do It, No Matter What.

So, remember: You can’t enjoy your life if you’re on death’s door. You need to take care of yourself to to enjoy the benefits of your hard work.

Take a day off. Jump in the ocean. Eat ice cream. Watch Netflix. Fight a bear and then become friends and go eat berries together.

Don’t burn yourself out. It’s not worth it.

Leave a Reply

